?

Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

The iTunes Delete Key Bug

On the newest version of iTunes, there is a really annoying bug. Apparently I'm the only one in the entire world to have this bug, but it's incredibly annoying. The problem is that, when editing a song title (or artist, or album, etc.), if I hit the Delete key, the character to the right of the cursor is deleted (as it should be), but then immediately the change is committed and the field is no longer editable. This requires me to click back in the field (or press F2 again) to re-edit. The following situation is typical:

"Song Title I Want To Edit"

So say I want to make the "T" in "To" lowercase. If I highlight this song title and press F2, it becomes editable. I then place my cursor here (where the vertical bar is):

"Song Title I Want |To Edit"

I usually press Delete and then type "t". In this scenario, once I hit Delete, the song title becomes

"Song Title I Want o Edit"

and then it jumps to the first artist in my library that starts with "t", requiring me to find the goddamn song again.

I went to the Apple.com page, and the Support page, and could not find anything related to this. I also searched Google for various search terms. Can somebody that has iTunes 7.3 for Windows XP verify that this problem doesn't just exist on my PC? It is infuriating. Also, I can't seem to find a way to submit this problem to Apple anywhere on their site. I searched high and low, and all I can do is search other people's questions. The only workaround is to use the Backspace key, but I'm used to being able to use both, as they do two different things.

ETA: I figured out how to submit a bug report, so I submitted one with the following text:
Delete Key Exhibits Strange Behavior

In the latest version of iTunes (7.4.3), there is a problem with the Delete key behavior. When editing a song title, the Delete key will delete the character to the right of the cursor as it should, but then immediately changes will be committed and the title will become non-editable.

The only workaround is to use the backspace key for all deletions.

Comments

( 8 comments — Leave a comment )
emmyemmy
Oct. 1st, 2007 07:57 pm (UTC)
You're not the only one.
happinessiseasy
Oct. 1st, 2007 08:01 pm (UTC)
Good. Now if only there were some way to alert Apple to this.
skate_or_die82
Oct. 1st, 2007 08:08 pm (UTC)
I'll check it out when I get home. I recently installed the new version but haven't had to edit anything yet.

I've been having Apple troubles of my own. iTunes will often tells me that my iPod is corrupt when I try to synch. This seems to happen if the iPod is booting up/waking up when I plug it in to synch. When it says this, sometimes a reboot (of the PC) fixes it, but more often than not I have to use iTunes "restore" option on the iPod which usually ends with iTunes again telling me that my iPod is corrupt. At that point, I shut down all iTunes related services, let Windows detect the drive, and then either select "format" or that error checking option. I try a few things so I don't really know which one makes the difference. Then, I launch iTunes and I have to name my iPod all over again and let it synch (which takes like 45 minutes).

Any thoughts on this would be appreciated.
happinessiseasy
Oct. 1st, 2007 08:34 pm (UTC)
It sounds to me like you should send your iPod in for repair. That sounds like a hardware issue if it keeps doing that even after a restore. Have you tried all the troubleshooting on the support page (the 5 R's, etc.)?
skate_or_die82
Oct. 1st, 2007 10:20 pm (UTC)
"Yes"
skate_or_die82
Oct. 2nd, 2007 06:08 pm (UTC)
Confirmed
I tried using the Delete key to edit fields and I get the very same behavior. I wonder why they changed it.
(Anonymous)
Dec. 15th, 2007 04:27 am (UTC)
this drives me crazy too
i have a huge library of files --having to get used to this anomaly in my computing really irks me. in *no other program* is this the rule, that delete exits edit mode.

its messing with my head... itunes was perfect before this.

fix it apple!!
(Anonymous)
Dec. 28th, 2007 12:51 am (UTC)
It's the same annoying thing on 7.5.0
I've accidentally deleted a few songs because of this.
Also, I checked the box, "Do not warn me again" when deleting a song and now I can't get that back. So, add these two issues together and I keep loosing songs and having to re-add them!
I'm starting to dislike itunes.
:(
( 8 comments — Leave a comment )

Latest Month

December 2010
S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Tags

Powered by LiveJournal.com
Designed by Naoto Kishi